Information of Area Churches Submitted by Christine Shannon February 2004

Place Comm	nents	Parish		Establ	ished
	IS. (Ocean Springs) all military fort.				1699
Mobile, AL				1703	
Natchez, MS				1716	
Robeline, LA				1717	
New Orleans, LA In 1788, St. Louis Church			St. Louis Church		1720
was d	estroyed by fire. A				
new church was completed					
and put in use in 1794,					
thanks to the generous					
donation of Don Andrés					
Almonester y Roxas (who					
is buried in the church).					
At this time the church					
was raised to the level					
of "Ca	athedral."				
La Balize		1722			

(near the mouth of the Mississippi, Plaquemines Parish)

German Coast, LA (Destrehan) later, St. Charles Borremeo	Little Red Church		1723	
Pointe Coupee, LA		1728		
Natchitoches, LA		1728		
Chapitoulas, LA (Metairie)		1729		
Edgard, LA	St. John the Baptist 177		12	
St. Bernard Parish		1787		
New Orleans 1975- Designated a National	St. Patrick 183		i	
Historic Landmark.				
Convent, LA		ca 183	0-1833	
Grand Coteau, LA	ca 1830-1833		0-1833	
Vermillionville (Lafayette), LA			ca 1830-1833	
Thibodaux, LA			ca 1830-1833	
New Orleans, LA	St. Joseph Church		1844	
Buras, LA	Our Lady of Good Harbor		ca 1861-1865	
Reserve, LA	St. Peter	ca 186	1-1865	
New Orleans, LA	St. Francis de Sales		ca 1870-1888	
New Orleans, LA	Our Lady of Sacred H	Ieart	ca 1870-1888	
New Orleans, LA	Sacred Heart of Jesus		ca 1870-1888	
New Orleans, LA	Our Lady of Good Co	ounsel	ca 1870-1888	
Kenner, LA	Our Lady of Perpetual Hope	ca 187	0-1888	
Taft, LA (Hahnville)	Our Lady of the Holy Rosary ca 1870-1888			
Abita Springs, LA	St. Jane de Chantal	ca 187	0-1888	

New Orleans, LA	Holy Name of Jesus	1892	
New Orleans, LA Replaced in 1918	St. Francis of Assisi	1889-1893	
by St. Mary's	(on Ursulines St.)		
New Orleans, LA Replaced in 1918	St. Anthony	1889-1893	
by St. Mary's	(on Rampart St.)		
New Orleans, LA designated for those	St. Catherine's	1895	
of African descent	(on Tulane)		
New Orleans, LA	Blessed Sacrament	ca 1904-1914	
New Orleans, LA	Corpus Christi	ca 1904-1914	
New Orleans, LA later, St. Joan of Arc	St. Dominic	ca 1904-1914	
New Orleans, LA	Holy Ghost	ca 1904-1914	
New Orleans, LA First church destroyed	Our Lady Star of the Sea	1911	
in a hurricane 1915.			
New Orleans, LA Known as "St. Mary's	St. Mary's Church	1918	
Italian"	(on Chartres Street)		
Belle Chase, LA		ca 1918-1941	
Folsom, LA	ca 1918-1941 ca 1918-1941		
Gretna, LA			
Jefferson, LA	ca 191	18-1941	
Lafitte, LA	ca 191	ca 1918-1941	

Merrero, LA	ca 1918-1941
Metairie, LA	ca 1918-1941
Reserve, LA	ca 1918-1941
Westwego, LA	ca 1918-1941

Diocesean Boundaries: From the beginning of its history, Louisiana had been placed under the Bishop of Quebec; in 1696 the priests of the seminary of Quebec petitioned the second Bishop of Quebec for authority to establish missions in the west. The field for which they obtained this authority (1 May, 1698), was on both banks of the Mississippi and its tributaries. Its original territory comprised the ancient Louisiana purchase and East and West Florida, being bounded on the north by the Canadian line, on the west by the Rocky Mountains and the Rio Perdito, on the east by the Diocese of Baltimore, and on the south by the Diocese of Linares and the Archdiocese of Durango. In July of 1703, Mobile AL became the center of a new parish. In 1918, the diocese was moved to New Orleans.

In 1793 the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas was created by the Spanish. The diocese stretched from Key West Florida, below the American colonies and west of the Mississippi River into Canada.

The 1803 Louisiana Purchase incorporated most of the Diocese of Louisiana into the United States; its boundaries were further clarified when Louisiana was admitted to the Union as a state in 1812. In 1826, the Diocese of St. Louis was created, encompassing the northern part of the diocese. In 1829, the Diocese of Mobile was established. By 1830, the Diocese of New Orleans, as it was now known, was reduced in size to present-day Louisiana and Mississippi.

In 1837, the Diocese of Natchez, comprising the state of Mississippi, was established. In 1853, North Louisiana was made a separate diocese with its see city in Natchitoches and Father Auguste Martin as the first bishop.

In 1850, New Orleans became an archdiocese with Antoine Blanc as its first archbishop.

The archdiocesan boundaries were redrawn in 1961 with the establishment of the Diocese of Baton Rouge. The new diocese included eleven civil parishes.

The boundaries of the Province of New Orleans became coterminous with the state of Louisiana after the establishment of the Provinces of Oklahoma City

in 1973 (Oklahoma and Arkansas) and Mobile in 1980 (Alabama and Mississippi). Three new dioceses were created in Louisiana: Houma-Thibodaux in 1977; Lake Charles in 1980, and Shreveport in 1986.

Sources: Free tour of St. Louis Cathedral

Archdiocese of New Orleans website; History of the Archdiocese pages; http://www.archdiocese-no.org/history/index.htm; online February 21, 2004.

New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia; http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/11005b.htm; online February 21, 2004.

Holy Name of Jesus Parish; http://www.hnjchurch.org/about_us.html; online February 21, 2004. A Concise History of Holy Name of Jesus Church.pdf, created Sept. 10, 2003.

Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Church; Our Parish History; http://olss-no.com/history.htm; online February 21, 2004.

St. Joseph Catholic Church; History of St. Joseph Catholic Church; http://www.gnofn.org/~vincent/history.htm; online February 21, 2004.

St. Patrick's Church; A Brief History; http://www.oldstpatricks.org/ourhistory.htm; online February 21, 2004.